day 35 – ruin

Today I found out that the Magic Lantern firmware I’ve upgraded my 550D with has an HDR function which allows way more control than the exposure bracketing which comes on the camera as standard.  Up to 9 exposures with 1/3rd to 5 stop increments.  Amazing!  So I set out to experiment with it.  To be honest, I’ve never managed to get the hang of this HDR business.  I’ve struggled to end up with a realistic looking image.  But I’ve just noticed the exposure blending option in Photomatix which does seem to yield a far more realistic result.  I think I may have to do a bit more research to figure out exactly what all the adjustments do instead of just moving the sliders up and down until I have something that looks like today’s resulting image.  I’ve also used my fisheye in this case and corrected the distortion so is resembles something like a photo taken with a 12mm lens and doesn’t have too much of that fisheye craziness going on.  Corner sharpens is surprisingly good after the Light Room 3 correction.  I thought it would be rubbish, but it’s almost acceptable.

1 comment
  1. Lovely warm glow to the picture, and great detail/textures.
    I must admit I’m not one for HDR, but when it is done subtley it can be great.
    Have a look at Randal Ford’s work – stunning stuff: http://www.randalford.com

Leave a Reply

