day 5 – MC Escher

Hanging out the washing on the roof terrace of my house here always makes me feel like I’ve been sketched into an MC Escher illustration.  Even the rusty little staircase one gingerly ascends to get to the roof seems to defy the natural laws of physics.  The completely mad way in which these Portuguese folk (illegally) construct appendages to the backs of their houses, rooftops, balconies or anything else that may (or may only just) support it, makes for interesting viewing.  Hence my photo for day 5.  The only lens I have to do the job was my fisheye, but I think the distorted effect lends itself well to this surreal scene.

1 comment
  1. pookster said:

    It reminds me of the RDP houses here – the proud owner, who just yesterday was living in squalid conditions in a ramshackle shack, smilingly receives the key to his freshly painted new house, and then promptly constructs a shack in the backyard.

Leave a Reply

